Julie – the shopkeeper

Keeping all the goods
World exotic food

Houses, cars, cats
Olives, oils, fats,
Umbrella and hats

Sparkly neon statutes
Ghosts that catch you
Doodles, silly things
Tooth fairy’s wings

Vases, draping internal
Flowers blooming eternal
All the good and great
Lying in a crate

Even sold emotions
Lust and devotion
Lull and motions

All types and trades
Low and high grades
Clear eyes, new brains
when memory fades

I only came for one
A pistol or a gun
To kill suffering, hate
a trapping with a bait

To lure bad inside
Remove whatever it hides
She looked me and said
I can sell you love instead

Killing never solves
Humanity shouldn’t absolve
It’s duty to this world
To spread only what lasts
All becomes dust, past
Take this potion, drink
Time is running fast

IMG_2183

6 thoughts on “Julie – the shopkeeper”

  1. I had a weird grocery shopping experience today that reminded me of this poem. Instead of a shopkeeper offering love and a potion, however, I encountered an old man who offered some unusual ideas and some unexpected information. I met him while he was talking to my dad on a bench inside the grocery store. He made an odd blanket statement about women and men: “Women are hard-wired to be control freaks but men not so much.” Maybe he was joking in response to my dad bragging about me (My dad said, “She is ten times smarter than I am”), but I am not sure. At the time, I was not paying full attention to what he was saying because I was busy looking inside my shopping cart and trying to figure out if I forgot anything we needed.

    After I left the store, I kept thinking about what he said. I kept asking myself if this is really true. The awful gender stereotypes about women being submissive and men being aggressive came to mind. Then my own personal experiences of meeting more controlling men than women came to mind, which could easily lead me to conclude that the reverse of what the old man said is true. However, I would be making the logical mistake of generalization based on a few anecdotal instances, so I dismissed that idea as well. I was left with one question: Are people (regardless of gender) born with “control freak” tendencies, or is this learned behavior or both? I still have not thought out the answer to that question yet.

    What was also weird about this encounter with this old man was that he wrote poetry and recited a poem he wrote to my dad. Over the years, my dad has talked to a lot of people while he sat on one of the benches inside of the store waiting for me to finish shopping, and I don’t remember any of them sharing poetry with my dad. Then after my dad left to get in line to pay for our groceries, the old man wanted to know our names. When I introduced myself and my dad to him, he gave me some background information about the country my parents are originally from (he found this out from talking to my dad). It was strange meeting someone who is more familiar with and knowledgeable about my parents’ homeland than I am. It also reminded me about how caught between cultures I am and the conflict that this sometimes creates.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree we should never generalise or stereotype, as I have seen all types and kinds in both genders. What our personalities are, whether it is innate or based on learning or experience, there are several theories to it. Recently I participated in a course where personalities were being segregated in earth, fire, water and air prominence!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well said! Yes, the makeup of one’s personality is complex, and stereotypes and generalizations do not provide an adequate explanation of its structure and function. The “elemental” analysis of personality that you mentioned sounds interesting. Years ago, I learned about Freud’s id, ego, and super-ego in school, but something about the theory did not appeal to me. I can’t remember what it was. I ended up gravitating toward Jung. This is a little off topic, but I like Jung’s concepts of the collective unconscious and archetypes. They help me understand why certain symbols and myths are common to many societies despite cultural differences and different geographical locations.

        I hope I don’t see that old man again. 🙂

        Like

  2. This was…. brilliant to read. As always. Imaginative holding hands with reality.. Feeling carrying reason on its wings.. :p enjoyed.
    Excuse my crazy-lit-student review. I wrote whatever popped up after it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

