Day

Night has arrived
Where did the day go
Another day pass
Without much done
No randomness
Nothing to excite
Grey skies, no sunlight
Moments left
without saying much
No craziness
None left in lurch
Storm didn’t come
World didn’t end
No bouquets arrived
No flowers to send
Really wish something
should have happened
A crisis would be nice,
Have brains to lend
Looking through the window
a passerby and carriages
Thinking about nothing
Loving or loathing
Just a solemn, blank stare
Another day passes
Without much to care

20140219-103259 am.jpg

68 thoughts on “Day”

  1. Great picture! And a really wow-combination with your poem!
    I wish I could say “without much to care” some days… πŸ˜‰
    But – for sure – IΒ΄m really happy with the life that IΒ΄m living!

    And IΒ΄m sure that YOU are taking care of a lot things every day too!
    πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks a lot for such a lovely comment, yes I am content too, and my days passes with a lot in it. It is about the idea of time passing quickly and whether people are making right choices how they spend it πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Hello, Ab! Very fine picture and words!! πŸ™‚
    I think it is more difficult, to sit down and rest, than do a lot all the time. While you rest, there can be a look inside of yourself and sometimes it isnt very nice whats to see and to respekt it, what there is…in myself…but: it is a great adventure, to take a look inside…maybe in the night…when all things are boring…
    Sorry for my bad english.

    Like

    1. Vera, thank you for the wonderful comment, btw if you are not comfortable, just send me your comment in German πŸ™‚ I am ok with that πŸ™‚ or stop apologising about bad English πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Maybe I will go bungee jumping…in my dreams…haha. Yes I will make it more productive and write more πŸ™‚

        Like

  3. Thank God the world hasn’t ended yet! Your poem makes me think of someone looking for more excitement, but there is no change. Change can be good, but disaster might be exciting for the time, but not the kind of excitement I look toward. Very thought provoking!

    Like

  4. “a crisis would be nice..” lol…errr…pass! πŸ™‚

    this piece was wonderfully loaded with possibilties to explore. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Very well said. And very well put. I, on the other hand love routine and find pleasure in the monotony of my days. Some are bad, some are depressing, some our happy, some are exciting. But, in some certain sense, all are beautiful (even though they may not feel it at the time).
    Really like this one AB. It’s beautiful and weaves together musically.
    =)

    Like

  6. Thank you for liking β€œLiving Bridge” and β€œA Colorful World.” I like this poem because I think a lot of people can relate to it. I notice the swift passage of time too, and I sometimes get frustrated and annoyed by some of the boring tasks that I have to do like clearing out junk from my parents’ house.

    However, life is constantly surprising me. Sometimes the surprises are good. For example, sometimes when I sit outside in the backyard, a butterfly or a hummingbird will fly near me, and I will be pleasantly distracted from my troubles by the appearance of these beautiful creatures. Other times I get unpleasant surprises, such as the time when a guy who stole a car plowed into the front gate of my house! I happened to be close to the front gate at the time because I was locking it, and I would have gotten hit if I did not run out of the way. After he knocked down my front gate, he passed through my backyard, and the police chased after him. They eventually caught him, and he is in prison now.

    I do not know what life has in store for me next, and maybe it is better that I do not know. In the past two weeks, a few things around the house broke one after another, including my computer monitor! I do not mind that things are calmer now that I replaced and repaired most of these things because for me it is probably the lull before another storm. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I know! πŸ™‚ I am surprised that my life includes scenes reminiscent of an action movie because I lead a pretty quiet life and hardly go out except when I have to.
        I think some of these dramatic events happen to me because of the neighborhood I live in. There have been problems with drug dealers here over the years. Now I see more homeless people living in the area. In fact, a homeless man was living behind our backyard fence last summer. My neighbor told me that he was arrested for stealing gas from other neighbors’ cars and that he was deported. She worries that he will return . . .

        We could probably afford to move away, but my dad wants to stay here. The house is already paid for in full, and we would probably have a hard time selling it because of the neighborhood we live in. I also think that my dad wants to stay here because my mother chose this house, and he feels close to her here. Since I am taking care of my dad, I have to stay here too.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think you should seriously consider writing a brilliant fictional account of your life, spice it up with some interesting plots, I will certainly read it πŸ˜ƒ

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank you for your interest in my life. πŸ™‚ I do not mind sharing some of my life experiences with other people, but I feel self-conscious about telling the whole story of my life even if it is a fictional account. I would not have to work too hard to spice up the plot if I did write the story. While I have had some wonderful and wonderfully weird experiences, I am still haunted by some stupid mistakes I made when I was younger and somewhat rebellious. Luckily, nothing seriously bad resulted from them, but they caused me a lot of grief and pain.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you for understanding. πŸ™‚ I constantly struggle with how much information to share about myself and whether or not I am being too outspoken at the wrong moment. I also try to be careful about what I say about my family and other people in my life that I care about, especially online.

    That being said, I do want to share with you a small and funny example of me getting myself in trouble for revealing too much about myself at the wrong place and time. It happened at one of my previous jobs. I was sitting in an employee office area with one of my co-workers. I can’t remember what we were talking about, but I ended up telling him that I took three semesters of voice lessons in college. He wanted me to sing for him in the office then and there! I tried to sing, but I was very nervous and constantly interrupted myself to let him know that I was nervous. Another co-worker heard me singing and stopped to listen too. The co-worker I was talking to liked my voice so much that he wanted to hear me sing again. I know I could have said no, but I decided to sing for him again. Then two other co-workers found out about my singing, and they wanted me to sing for them too. I sang for each of them separately when no one else was in the office. The only way I could get through these mini-concerts was to bring printed song lyrics and look at them while I was singing instead of making eye contact with each person that I was singing to. At least I wasn’t horrible, and they really enjoyed my performances.

    Now at my current job I keep my mouth shut about my singing ability. I do not want to be lunch-hour entertainment again. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

